Wednesday;  the number 8 photo 

The Beatitudes: 8 declarations of blessedness taught by Christ at the Sermon on the Mount. I won’t try to expound on them here-that has been done for centuries by scholars and clergy.  I just know that from childhood when I read them, each of them speaks to an attribute I wish to obtain:  I especially desire to be pure of heart-knowing that my intentions are without agenda, that with purity of heart, I can trust that what I am doing/thinking/feeling is leading me to a life of internal peace and happiness.  

Gandhi loved the Beatitudes and they align with Buddhist teachings and principles. However or wherever you find spiritual breath, I hope you can take a minute, breath deeply and contemplate these 8 promises offered to those who seek refinement of character.

Blessed means spiritual well being and prosperity-deep joy in the soul.

 “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are they who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the pure of heart, for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called children of God.

Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

Matthew chapter 5 verses 1-10